Friendly Realtors, Property Management
Back to blog

Home Loan Prepayment Charges in India: What RBI Rules Actually Allow

Can your bank charge a foreclosure fee in 2026? Here is a plain-English guide to RBI's 2025 prepayment rules: who is covered, who is not, and how to check your loan.

J

Written by

Justin

12 October 20266 minutes read

Imagine a couple who took a floating-rate home loan in early 2026. A year-end bonus arrives, and they want to put ₹5 lakh towards the loan. Then the doubt starts: “Will the bank charge us a penalty for paying early?” A relative says banks always do. Another says the rules changed. Before sending any money, they ask their lender to confirm the charges in writing. This is a question many Indian borrowers ask, and the answer depends on three things: the rate type, the sanction date, and who the borrower is.

Short answer: If you are an individual with a floating-rate home loan sanctioned or renewed on or after 1 January 2026, your lender cannot charge you a prepayment or foreclosure fee, whether you pay part or all of the balance. This comes from RBI’s Pre-payment Charges on Loans Directions, 2025 (issued 2 July 2025). Fixed-rate loans are treated differently, because the ban covers floating-rate loans only.

What does the RBI rule say?

On 2 July 2025, the Reserve Bank of India notified a single set of Directions on pre-payment charges (reference RBI/2025-26/64). RBI said its supervisory reviews found divergent practices on pre-payment charges, especially for loans to micro and small enterprises, and that some lenders used clauses in loan agreements to stop borrowers from switching to a cheaper lender. The Directions were issued to fix this.

The core points for a household borrower:

  • A regulated lender may not levy pre-payment charges on floating-rate loans to individuals for non-business purposes, with or without a co-borrower.

  • This applies whether you prepay in part or in full, whatever the source of the money, and with no minimum lock-in period.

  • The Directions apply to loans sanctioned or renewed on or after 1 January 2026.

  • They cover commercial banks (other than payments banks), co-operative banks, NBFCs and All India Financial Institutions.

  • If a loan mixes fixed and floating periods, the no-charge rule applies when it is on a floating rate at the time you prepay.

  • No charge can be levied when the repayment is initiated by the lender itself, or for a fee the lender had earlier waived.

  • Any pre-payment charge must be disclosed in the sanction letter, loan agreement and Key Facts Statement. A charge that was not disclosed cannot be levied.

Which loans are covered and which are not?

Loan type

Borrower and purpose

Pre-payment charge

Why

Floating-rate home loan

Individual, non-business

Not allowed

Falls under the no-charge rule for individuals

Floating-rate personal or education loan

Individual, non-business

Not allowed

Same rule, with or without a co-borrower

Floating-rate business loan from a commercial bank (not a small finance, regional rural or local area bank), Tier 4 urban co-operative bank, NBFC-Upper Layer or All India Financial Institution

Individual or MSE, business

Not allowed

The Directions extend the ban to these business loans

Floating-rate loan from a small finance bank, regional rural bank, Tier 3 urban co-operative bank, State or Central co-operative bank or NBFC-Middle Layer

Individual or MSE, business

Not allowed up to ₹50 lakh sanctioned

The ban applies only up to this amount for these lenders

Dual or hybrid-rate loan

Individual

Depends on the rate when you prepay

No-charge rule applies if the loan is floating at that time

Fixed-rate loan

Individual

May be charged as per the lender’s approved policy, based on the amount prepaid

The ban covers floating-rate loans only

Is this actually new for home loans?

Partly. RBI circulars from June 2012 already stopped banks from charging foreclosure penalties on floating-rate home loans, and a May 2014 circular extended that to floating-rate term loans to individuals. NBFCs and housing finance companies had matching rules in their own directions.

The 2025 Directions repeal those older instructions and replace them with one framework. They keep the no-charge rule for individuals, extend it to floating-rate business loans of individuals and MSEs at many lenders, and tighten disclosure. They apply to loans sanctioned or renewed on or after 1 January 2026.

The text does not say how older loans are treated, so if you have a loan from before 2026, ask your lender to confirm its pre-payment position in writing.

A worked example

Take a hypothetical lender policy that allows a 2% charge on a fixed-rate loan. Compare it with a floating-rate loan to an individual.

Scenario

Amount prepaid

Charge at 2%

Charge on a floating-rate individual loan

Part-payment from a bonus

₹5,00,000

₹10,000

₹0

Full foreclosure with ₹30 lakh outstanding

₹30,00,000

₹60,000

₹0

This is why the first thing to confirm is your rate type. The 2% is only an illustration, not a figure from the Directions.

How do I check my own loan before prepaying?

  1. Find the interest-rate type in your sanction letter or latest statement (floating, fixed or hybrid).

  2. Note the sanction or renewal date.

  3. Confirm the borrower is an individual and the purpose is non-business.

  4. Read the pre-payment clause and the Key Facts Statement. If a charge is not disclosed there, it cannot be levied.

  5. Ask the lender for a written foreclosure or part-payment statement showing zero charges.

  6. After paying, keep the receipt, and after full closure collect the no-dues certificate and updated statement.

Does “no penalty” mean I should prepay?

Not automatically. Removing the fee only removes one cost. Whether to prepay still depends on your interest rate, your emergency savings, other debts, tax benefits you may be claiming on the loan, and what else the money could do. For a decision on your own numbers, speak to a qualified financial adviser or tax professional.

Frequently asked questions

Can a bank charge a prepayment fee on a floating-rate home loan?
No. Regulated lenders cannot levy pre-payment or foreclosure charges on floating-rate loans to individuals for non-business purposes, for loans sanctioned or renewed on or after 1 January 2026.

Does it matter whether I prepay part or all of the loan?
No. The Directions apply whether you prepay part or all of the loan, whatever the source of the money, and without any minimum lock-in period.

What about fixed-rate loans?
The ban covers floating-rate loans only. For a fixed-rate loan, a charge is allowed under the lender’s approved policy, based on the amount prepaid. It must be disclosed in the sanction letter, loan agreement and Key Facts Statement, and an undisclosed charge cannot be levied.

What if my loan has both fixed and floating periods?
The no-charge rule applies if the loan is on a floating rate at the time you prepay.

Does this apply to loans taken before 1 January 2026?
The Directions cover loans sanctioned or renewed from that date. For an older loan, check your agreement and ask the lender to confirm in writing which pre-payment terms apply.

Can a lender charge me if it asks me to repay early?
No. A lender cannot levy a charge on a repayment made at its own instance.

This article is for general education and is not legal advice.